A jewel of choral music, Antonín Dvořák’s Stabat Mater is a musical setting of Jacopone da Todi’s powerful and immediate medieval poem. This highly-religious text tells of Mary lamenting her son at the foot of the cross.

Dvořák began writing the piece under a cloud of great personal tragedy – coming to terms with the death of his daughter Josefina. Tragically still, by the time the work was completed two more of his children had passed away. In a time when the composer was at his darkest and most tormented, he created a portrait of grace and peace so compelling, it can’t help but give comfort to all that encounter it.

Set in ten movements for a large orchestra, chorus and four soloists, the composer refuses to allow despair to overwhelm him; his music reflects neither resignation nor hopelessness. In this, Dvořák’s masterpiece, we look through a veil of tears and see faith in life – as if the music floats off to heaven itself.

Why You Should Attend

Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, Leeds Philharmonic Singers and St Peters Singers will provide a wonderful rendition of this hauntingly beautiful music.

Types of Music
Event Info
Additional Info

Free pre-concert talk at 6.45pm by Judy Blezzard.

The concert will be finished by approximately 9pm. Please note, there is no interval in this concert.

Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Leeds Philharmonic Singers

St Peters Singers

David Hill conductor

Elizabeth Atherton soprano

Catherine Wyn-Rogers mezzo soprano

Sam Furness tenor

Wojtek Gierlach Bass

  • No comments yet.
  • chat
    Add a review